The World Wide Web was first conceived in 1989 by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland. The first conference of the series, WWW1, was held at CERN in 1994 and organized by Robert Cailliau. The IW3C2 was founded by Joseph Hardin and Robert Cailliau later in 1994 and has been responsible for the conference series ever since. Except for 1994 and 1995 when two conferences were held each year, WWWn became an annual event held in late April or early May. The location of the conference rotates among North America, Europe, and Asia. In 2001 the conference designator changed from a number (1 through 10) to the year it is held; i.e., WWW11 became known as WWW2002, and so on.

The WWW Conference series aims to provide the world a premier forum for discussion and debate about the evolution of the Web, the standardization of its associated technologies, and the impact of those technologies on society and culture. The conferences bring together researchers, developers, users and commercial ventures – indeed all who are passionate about the Web and what it has to offer.

The conferences are organized by the IW3C2 in collaboration with Local Organizing Committees and Technical Program Committees. The series provides an open forum in which all opinions can be presented, subject to a strict process of peer review.


Twentieth International WWW Conference
Date: March 28-April 1, 2011
location: Hyderabad, India
Conference Chairs: Prof. S. Sadgopan and Prof. Krithi Ramamritham
Nineteenth International WWW Conference
Date: April 26-30, 2010
location: Raleigh, NC (USA)
Conference Chairs: Michael Rappa and Paul Jones
Program Chairs: Juliana Friere and Soumen Chakrabarti
Hosts: North Carolina State University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Eighteenth International WWW Conference
Date: April 20-24, 2009
location: Madrid, Spain
Conference Chairs: Juan Quemada and Gonzalo León
Program Chairs: Yoelle Maarek and Wolfgang Nejdl
Host: Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Seventeenth International WWW Conference
Date: April 21-25, 2008
location: Beijing, China
Conference Chairs: Robin Chen and Jinpeng Huai
Program Chairs: Wei-Ying Ma, Andrew Tomkins and Xiaodong Zhang
Host: Beihang University
Sixteenth International WWW Conference
Date: May 8-12, 2007
location: Banff, Canada
Conference Chairs: Carey Williamson and Mary Ellen Zurko
Program Chairs: Peter Patel-Schneider and Prashant Shenoy
Host: University of Calgary
Fifteenth International WWW Conference
Date: May 22-26, 2006
location: Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)
Conference Chairs: Leslie Carr, David De Roure, and Arun Iyengar
Program Chairs: Carole Goble and Mike Dahlin
Host: University of Southampton
Fourteenth International WWW Conference
Date: May 10-14, 2005
location: Chiba, Japan
Conference Chairs: Tatsuya Hagino and Allan Ellis
Program Chair: Fred Douglis and Prabhakar Raghavan
Host: Keio University
Thirteenth International WWW Conference
Date: May 17-22, 2004
location: New York, NY (USA)
Conference Chairs: Stuart Feldman and Mike Uretsky
Program Chairs: Marc Najork and Craig Wills
Twelfth International WWW Conference
Date: May 20-24, 2003
location: Budapest, Hungary
Conference Chairs: Péter Bakonyi, Gusztáv Hencsey and Bebo White
Program Chairs: László Kovács, Steve Lawrence and Robin Chen
Host: Computer and Automation Research Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Eleventh International WWW Conference
Date: May 6-11, 2002
location: Honolulu, HI (USA)
Conference Chair: David Lassner
Program Chairs: Dave De Roure and Arun Iyengar
Hosts: University of Hawaii and the Pacific Telecom Council (PTC)
Tenth International WWW Conference
Date: May 1-5, 2001
location: Hong Kong, China
Conference Chairs: Nabuo Saito and Vincent Shen
Program Chairs: Michael Lyu and Mary Ellen Zurko
Hosts: The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, et al.
Ninth International WWW Conference
Date: May 15-19, 2000
location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Conference Chairs: Ivan Herman and Albert Vezza
Program Chair: Dick Bulterman
Host: National Research Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science
Eigth International WWW Conference
Date: May 11-14, 1999
location: Toronto, Canada
Conference Chairs: Albert Vezza, Murray Maloney and Robert Cailliau
Program Chair: Alberto Mendelzon
Seventh International WWW Conference
Date: April 14-18, 1998
location: Brisbane, Australia
Conference Chair: Allan Ellis
Program Chairs: Helen Ashman and Paul Thistlewaite
Host: Charles Sturt University, the Distributed Systems Technology Centre, the Prentice Centre, the Information Industries Branch (Queensland) and Southern Cross University
Sixth International WWW Conference
Date: April 7-11, 1997
location: Santa Clara, CA (USA)
Conference Chairs: Christine Quinn and Bebo White
Program Chairs: Michael Genesereth and Anna Patterson
Hosts: Stanford Linear Accelerator Center and Stanford University
Fifth International WWW Conference
Date: May 6-10, 1996
location: Paris, France
Conference Chair: Jean-François Abramatic
Program Chair: Bob Hopgood
Host: Institut National pour la Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique (INRIA)
Fourth International WWW Conference
Date: December 11-14, 1995
location: Boston, MA (USA)
Conference Chairs: Ira Goldstein and Albert Vezza
Program Chair: Tim Berners-Lee
Host: MIT Laboratory for Computer Science
Third International WWW Conference
Date: April 10-14, 1995
Darmstadt, Germany
Conference Chair: Detlef Krömker
Program Chairs: Tim Berners-Lee and Detlef Krömker
Hosts: Fraunhofer Gesellschaft/Institute for Graphic Design (FhG/IGD); Technical University of Darmstadt
Second International WWW Conference
Date: October 17-20, 1994
location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Host: National Center for Supercomputing Applications, (NCSA)
First International WWW Conference
Date: May 25-27, 1994
location: CERN, Geneva, Switzerland
Conference Chair: Robert Cailliau
Program Chair: Oscar Nierstrasz
Host: Centre Universitaire d’Informatique