Call For Industry Proposals

Track chairs:


We invite contributions to the Industry Track to be held at The Web Conference 2023 (formerly known as WWW). The conference will take place online, hosted at Austin, USA, on April 30 - May 4, 2023.

The Web has proven to be a fertile ground for industrial research, and companies from small to large, from brand new to long established, are making an ongoing impact on the state of the art in science and engineering. The Web Conference 2023 Industry Track highlights such research in applied settings.

The Industry Track welcomes contributions showcasing original results obtained in an industrial environment, having clear industry relevance, and highlighting new research challenges motivated by practical tasks and practical settings. The Industry Track is distinct from the Research Track in that submissions focus on applied work describing e.g. the implementation of a system, the acquisition of data, or the application of a methodology, that solves a significant real-world problem and demonstrates benefits as well as impact. Submissions must clearly describe how their work has been deployed or released, and for how long.

Each submission must include at least one author with a non-academic affiliation.

Accepted papers will be published in the companion proceedings of The Web Conference, in the ACM Digital Library. Please be aware that the official publication date is the date the proceedings are made available in the ACM Digital Library. This date may be up to two weeks prior to the first day of your conference. The official publication date affects the deadline for any patent filings related to published work.

Submission guidelines

Submissions are limited to 4 content pages, which should include all figures and tables, but excluding references. The papers must be formatted according to the instructions below. Submissions are NOT anonymous, hence authors should list their names and affiliations. Submitted papers should not have been published before in an archival venue, or currently be under review in an archival venue. Authors are welcome to submit papers that have been published as a preprint on arXiv, or in a non-archival venue like a workshop.

This year we will embrace the FAIR principles by collecting structured metadata of the datasets, software, and methods generated by all paper submissions. Authors will be encouraged to add these resources in the EasyChair submission form (together with a brief description).

ACM Policy Against Discrimination: all authors and participants must adhere the the ACM discrimination policy. For full details, please visit this site:

Submissions will be handled via Easychair at

Formatting the submission of short papers

Submissions must adhere to the ACM template and format published in the ACM guidelines at the ACM double-column SIG Conference Proceedings template:

Please remember to add Concepts and Keywords.

Submissions for review must be in PDF format. They must be self-contained and written in English.

Important dates

No rebuttal is foreseen.
All submission deadlines are end-of-day in the Anywhere on Earth (AoE) time zone.

Program Committees

Nathalie Abadie, LASTIG, Univ. Gustave Eiffel, IGN-ENSGKumar Abhishek, Expedia Group, Inc.Ghadeer Abuoda, Aalborg UniversityNitish Aggarwal, Roku Inc.Ehab Al-Masri, University of WashingtonHussein Al-Olimat, PointClickCareMehwish Alam, Télécom Paris, Institute Polytechnique de ParisPanos Alexopoulos, Textkernel B.V.Vito Walter Anelli, Politecnico di BariKemafor Anyanwu, North Carolina State UniversityShubhi Asthana, IBMGhislain Auguste Atemezing, MondecaPeng Bao, Beijing Jiaotong UniversityPaolo Bellavista, University of BolognaAnurag Bhardwaj, eBay Research LabsAliaksandr Birukou, Springer NatureStefano Braghin, IBM Research EuropeJanez Brank, Jozef Stefan InstituteVolha Bryl, Springer NatureYoan Chabot, Orange LabsVictor Charpenay, Mines Saint-Etienne, Univ Clermont Auvergne, INP Clermont Auvergne, CNRS, UMR 6158 LIMOSYi-Hui Chen, Chang Gung University/Information ManagementXu Chen, Microsoft Research AsiaZhiyuan Chen, University of Maryland Baltimore CountyYuanzhe Chen, Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.Gong Cheng, Nanjing UniversityAndrei Ciortea, University of St. GallenBenjamin Coleman, GoogleFederico D'Asaro, LINKS FoundationEnrico Daga, The Open UniversityAnwitaman Datta, Nanyang Technological UniversityRonald Denaux, AmazonDennis Diefenbach, University Jean MonetMilan Dojchinovski, Czech Technical University in PragueChaosheng Dong, AmazonMauro Dragoni, Fondazione Bruno Kessler - FBK-IRSTLun Du, Microsoft ResearchStefano Faralli, Sapienza University of RomeHans-Georg Fill, University of FribourgBo Fu, California State University Long BeachEsther Galbrun, University of Eastern FInlandSunil Gandhi, Amazon AlexaBalaji Ganesan, IBM ResearchAshwinkumar Ganesan, AmazonAndrés García-Silva, Expert.aiDario GarigliottiJose Manuel Gomez-Perez, expert.aiNidhi Goyal, iiit delhiPaul Grace, University of SouthamptonPaul Groth, University of AmsterdamDaniel Gruhl, IBM Almaden Research CenterChristophe Guéret, Accenture LabsBin Guo, Institut Telecom SudParisPeter Haase, metaphactsGuillaume Habault, KDDI ResearchArmin Haller, Australian National UniversityOktie Hassanzadeh, IBMLihong He, IBM ResearchYan He, YahooJin Hong, University of Western AustraliaHsu-Chun Hsiao, National Taiwan UniversityMadelon Hulsebos, University of AmsterdamViet-Phi Huynh, OrangeMonika Jain, Manipal University JaipurYilun Jin, The Hong Kong University of Science and TechnologyTobias Käfer, Karlsruhe Institute of TechnologyDeovrat Kakde, SAS Institute Inc.Maximos Kaliakatsos-Papakostas, School of Music Studies, Aristotle University of ThessalonikiRicardo Kawase, GmbH / AdevintaMayank Kejriwal, Information Sciences InstituteAnkesh Khandelwal, AmazonMayank Kharbanda, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology DelhiVihan Lakshman, ThirdAIMounia Lalmas, SpotifyDongha Lee, University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignGyu Myoung Lee, Liverpool John Moores UniversityMaxime Lefrançois, MINES Saint-EtienneXijun Li, Huawei Noah's Ark LabPengyuan Li, IBM ResearchYuan-Fang Li, Monash UniversityLeonid Libkin, The University of EdinburghIsmini Lourentzou, Virginia TechWeilin Luo, HuaweiXiaojun Ma, MicrosoftXiaogang Ma, University of IdahoKhushhall Chandra Mahajan, Meta Inc.Enrico Mariconti, University College LondonNandana Mihindukulasooriya, IBM Research AIDavid Nichols, University of WaikatoAastha Nigam, LinkedIn AIAndriy Nikolov, AstraZenecaRaul Ortega, ExpertSystemMax Ott, Data61Aditya Palnitkar, MetaEnrico Palumbo, SpotifyDhaval Patel, IBMRomana Pernisch, Vrije Universiteit AmsterdamGuangyuan Piao, National University of IrelandGabriele Picco, IBM ResearchAmey Porobo Dharwadker, Meta Inc.Saloni Potdar, Apple, Carnegie Mellon University, IBM WatsonDnyanesh Rajpathak, General MotorsLouiqa Raschid, University of MarylandAmbrish Rawat, IBMMartin Rezk, GoogleMariano Rico, Universidad Politécnica de MadridGiuseppe Rizzo, LINKS FoundationJulian Rojas, Ghent UniversityEmanuel Sallinger, TU WienMichael Schmidt, AmazonZhejun Shen, eBay IncCogan Shimizu, Kansas State UniversityHong-Han Shuai, National Chiao Tung UniversityLei Song, AppleKavitha Srinivas, IBMMari Carmen Suárez-Figueroa, Universidad Politécnica de MadridLionel Tailhardat, OrangeHiren Thummar, IBM ResearchAnna Tordai, Elsevier B.V.Sebastian Tramp, eccenca GmbHJürgen Umbrich, Vienna University of Economy and Business (WU)Hannes Voigt, Neo4jRuixiang Wang, eBay inc.Peter Wood, Birkbeck, University of LondonJosiane Xavier Parreira, Siemens AG ÖsterreichBo Yan, GoogleKe Yang, University of Massachusetts, AmherstAchille Zappa, Insight @ NUIGalwaySyed Zawad, IBM ResearchTobias Zeimetz, University TrierXiaowang Zhang, Tianjin University, ChinaLu Zhou, TigerGraph, Inc.Giulio Zizzo, IBM Research