History ofThe Web Conference

The World Wide Web was first conceived in 1989 by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland. The first conference of the series, WWW1, was held at CERN in 1994 and organized by Robert Cailliau. The IW3C2 was founded by Joseph Hardin and Robert Cailliau later in 1994 and has been responsible for the conference series ever since. Except for 1994 and 1995 when two conferences were held each year, WWW became an annual event held in late April or early May. The location of the conference rotates among America, Europe, and Asia. In 2001 the conference designator changed from a number (1 through 10) to the year it is held; i.e., WWW11 became known as WWW2002, and so on.

The WWW Conference series aims to provide the world with a premier forum for discussion and debate about the evolution of the Web, the standardization of its associated technologies, and the impact of those technologies on society and culture. The conferences bring together researchers, developers, users and commercial ventures – indeed all who are passionate about the Web and what it has to offer.

The conferences are organized by the IW3C2 in collaboration with Local Organizing Committees and Technical Program Committees. The series provides an open forum in which all opinions can be presented, subject to a strict process of peer review.

WWW2017 April 3-7, 2017

Perth, Western Australia

Conference Chairs: Rick Barrett and Rick Cummings

Program Chairs: Eugene Agichtein and Evgeniy Gabrilovich

WWW2016 April 11-15, 2016

Montreal, Canada

Conference Chairs: Jacqueline Bourdeau, Jim A. Hendler and Roger Nkambou

Program Chairs: Ian Horrocks and Ben Y. Zhao

Host: Université du Québec à Montréal

WWW2015 May 18-22, 2015

Florence, Italy

Conference Chairs: Aldo Gangemi, Stefano Leonardi and Alessandro Panconesi

Program Chairs: Krishna Gummadi and Chengxiang Zhai

WWW2014 May 7-11, 2014

Seoul, South Korea

Conference Chair: Chin-Wan Chung

Conference Vice Chairs: Sung Joon Choi, Sang-goo Lee and Sue Moon

Program Chairs: Andrei Broder, Kyuseok Shim and Torsten Suel

Hosts: Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, and Korean Agency for Technology and Standards

WWW2013 May 13-17, 2013

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Conference Chairs: Virgilio Almeida, Hartmut Glaser and Daniel Schwabe

Program Chairs: Ricardo Baeza-Yates and Sue Moon

Hosts: Brazilian Internet Steering Committee, and Brazilian Network Information Center

WWW2012 April 16-20, 2012

Lyon, France

Conference Chairs: Prof. A. Mille, Dr. Fabien Gandon and Jacques Misselis

Program Chairs: Dr. Michael Rabinovich and Dr. Steffen Staab

Host: Université de Lyon

WWW2011 March 28-April 1, 2011

Hyderabad, India

Conference Chairs: Prof. S. Sadgopan and Prof. Krithi Ramamritham

Program Chairs: Elisa Bertino and Ravi Kumar

Host: International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore


April 26-30, 2010

Raleigh, NC (USA)

Conference Chairs: Michael Rappa and Paul Jones

Program Chairs: Juliana Friere and Soumen Chakrabarti

Hosts: North Carolina State University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


April 20-24, 2009

Madrid, Spain

Conference Chairs: Juan Quemada and Gonzalo León

Program Chairs: Yoelle Maarek and Wolfgang Nejdl

Host: Universidad Politécnica de Madrid


April 21-25, 2008

Beijing, China

Conference Chairs: Robin Chen and Jinpeng Huai

Program Chairs: Wei-Ying Ma, Andrew Tomkins and Xiaodong Zhang

Host: Beihang University


May 8-12, 2007

Banff, Canada

Conference Chairs: Carey Williamson and Mary Ellen Zurko

Program Chairs: Peter Patel-Schneider and Prashant Shenoy

Host: University of Calgary


May 22-26, 2006

Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)

Conference Chairs: Leslie Carr, David De Roure and Arun Iyengar

Program Chairs: Carole Goble and Mike Dahlin

Host: University of Southampton


May 10-14, 2005

Chiba, Japan

Conference Chairs: Tatsuya Hagino and Allan Ellis

Program Chair: Fred Douglis and Prabhakar Raghavan

Host: Keio University


May 17-22, 2004

New York, NY (USA)

Conference Chairs: Stuart Feldman and Mike Uretsky

Program Chairs: Marc Najork and Craig Wills


May 20-24, 2003

Budapest, Hungary

Conference Chairs: Péter Bakonyi, Gusztáv Hencsey and Bebo White

Program Chairs: László Kovács, Steve Lawrence and Robin Chen

Host: Computer and Automation Research Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences


May 6-11, 2002

Honolulu, HI (USA)

Conference Chair: David Lassner

Program Chairs: Dave De Roure and Arun Iyengar

Hosts: University of Hawaii, and the Pacific Telecom Council (PTC)


May 1-5, 2001

Hong Kong, China

Conference Chairs: Nabuo Saito and Vincent Shen

Program Chairs: Michael Lyu and Mary Ellen Zurko

Hosts: The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, et al.


May 15-19, 2000

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Conference Chairs: Ivan Herman and Albert Vezza

Program Chair: Dick Bulterman

Host: National Research Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science


May 11-14, 1999

Toronto, Canada

Conference Chairs: Albert Vezza, Murray Maloney and Robert Cailliau

Program Chair: Alberto Mendelzon


April 14-18, 1998

Brisbane, Australia

Conference Chair: Allan Ellis

Program Chairs: Helen Ashman and Paul Thistlewaite

Host: Charles Sturt University, the Distributed Systems Technology Centre, the Prentice Centre, the Information Industries Branch (Queensland) and Southern Cross University


April 7-11, 1997

Santa Clara, CA (USA)

Conference Chairs: Christine Quinn and Bebo White

Program Chairs: Michael Genesereth and Anna Patterson

Hosts: Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, and Stanford University


May 6-10, 1996

Paris, France

Conference Chair: Jean-François Abramatic

Program Chair: Bob Hopgood

Host: Institut National pour la Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique (INRIA)


December 11-14, 1995

Boston, MA (USA)

Conference Chairs: Ira Goldstein and Albert Vezza

Program Chair: Tim Berners-Lee

Host: MIT Laboratory for Computer Science


April 10-14, 1995

Darmstadt, Germany

Conference Chair: Detlef Krömker

Program Chairs: Tim Berners-Lee and Detlef Krömker

Hosts: Fraunhofer Gesellschaft/Institute for Graphic Design (FhG/IGD), Technical University of Darmstadt


October 17-20, 1994

Chicago, IL (USA)

Conference Chairs: Robert Cailliau, Ira Goldstein and Joseph Hardin

Host: National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA)


May 25-27, 1994

CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

Conference Chair: Robert Cailliau

Program Chair: Oscar Nierstrasz

Host: Centre Universitaire d’Informatique