Journalism, Misinformation
and Fact Checking

Misinformation has been spreading on the Web since its inception as an hyperconnected searchable medium, but recent developments, both in technology, the information ecosystem, and society at large, have made it more prominent, calling for more investigation on the topic.

As “fake news” (false or inaccurate articles fabricated for deceptive and financial purposes and presented as news reports), computational propaganda, astroturf, and ideological polarization become more common on the Web and the social Web, a cross-cutting and interdisciplinary approach is needed.

This track welcomes two types of contributions: a) research papers, b) perspective pieces. Contributions should explore the range of computational, social, cognitive, economic, and communication topics related to the above phenomena. Specifically, the track will examine recent computational approaches for detecting misinformation and propaganda on the Web and social media, as well as proposals to improve fact checking, critical thinking, information and media literacy, crowdsourcing, and societal decision-making processes. Contributions introducing new benchmark data sets or methods are especially welcome.

Accepted papers will be published in the official satellite proceedings.

Special issue:

A selection of the best contributions will be invited to be submitted, after proper revision and extension, for consideration for the upcoming special issue on “Combating Digital Misinformation and Disinformation” of the ACM Journal of Data and Information Quality.

Misinformation Track Chairs:

  • Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia (Indiana University Network Science Institute, USA)
  • Kristina Lerman (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Panagiotis Takis Metaxas (Wellesley College, USA)

Contact: misinfochairs (at)

Submission guideline:

Submissions should follow the guideline information on the general Web Conference. In addition, they should obey the following guidelines:

Page limit: Submissions should be formatted to not exceed eight pages. The page limit includes any diagrams or appendices but does not include references that have no page limit. No author identification: PDF files must be ready for double-blind review, that is, the submitted document should not include author information and should not include citations or discussion of related work that would make the authorship apparent.

Originality: Submissions must represent new and original work. Concurrent submissions are not allowed. Papers that have been published in or accepted to any peer-reviewed journal or conference/workshop with published proceedings, are currently under review or will be submitted to other meetings or publications while under review in this conference may not be submitted. However, submissions that are available online and/or have been previously presented orally or as posters in venues with no formal proceedings, are allowed. Note that if they are available online (e.g., via arXiv) and not anonymous, authors should make an effort to preserve anonymity, e.g., by making the title and abstract of the conference submission sufficiently different from one available online, and so limit the risk that a direct search will reveal their identity.

Proper attribution: Additionally, the ACM has a strict policy against plagiarism and self-plagiarism ( All prior work must be appropriately cited.

Submission website: (opens Dec 06)

Important dates:

  • Misinfo full papers submissions form open : 06 December 2017
  • Misinfo full papers submission deadline : 05 January 2018
  • Misinfo papers acceptance notification : 14 February 2018
  • Misinfo papers final version due : 28 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page

Program Committee:

  • Harith Alani (The Open University, United Kingdom)
  • Jisun An (Qatar Computing Research Institute Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar)
  • Matt Baum (Harvard University, USA)
  • Guido Caldarelli (Centre SMC CNR-INFM, Italy)
  • Carlos Castillo (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, United Kingdom)
  • James Caverlee (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Meeyoung Cha (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea)
  • Robin Cohen (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Nicholas Diakopoulos (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Lucia Falzon (Defence Science and Technology Group, USA)
  • Emilio Ferrara (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Aram Galstyan (USC/ISI, USA)
  • Kelly Garrett (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Amira Ghenai (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Yevgeniy Golovchenko (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Nir Grinberg (Northeastern University / Harvard University, USA)
  • Noriko Hara (Indiana University, USA)
  • Naeemul Hassan (University of Mississippi, USA)
  • Jim Hendler (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Jeff Jarvis (Tow-Knight Center, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, USA)
  • Prakruthi Karuna (George Mason University, USA)
  • Brian Keegan (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)
  • Johannes Kiesel (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Germany)
  • Hemank Lamba (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Gerry Lanosga (Indiana University, USA)
  • Dongwon Lee (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Xiao Ma (Cornell Tech, USA)
  • Alexios Mantzarlis (International Fact-Checking Network, Poynter Institute, USA)
  • Winter Mason (Facebook, USA)
  • Gregory Maus (Indiana University, USA)
  • Miriam Metzger (University of California Santa Barbara, USA)
  • An Mina (Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society, Harvard University, USA)
  • Tanushree Mitra (Virginia Tech, USA)
  • Elaheh Momeni (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Fred Morstatter (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Eni Mustafaraj (Wellesley College, USA)
  • Christine Ogan (Indiana University, USA)
  • John Paolillo (Indiana University, USA)
  • David Rothschild (Microsoft Research, USA)
  • Giancarlo Ruffo (Universita’ di Torino, Italy)
  • Nikos Sarris (Athens Technology Center, Greece)
  • Kazutoshi Sasahara (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Nishanth Sastry (King’s College London, United Kingdom)
  • Craig Silverman (Buzzfeed, USA)
  • Emmanuel Vincent (Climate Feedback, USA)
  • Tim Weninger (University of Notre Dame, USA)
  • Christo Wilson (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Jun Yang (Duke University, USA)
  • Cong Yu (Google, USA)
  • Amy Zhang (Massachussets Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Arkaitz Zubiaga (The University of Warwick, United Kingdom)