Developers’ track

A lot of great publications are accompanied by great implementations that sometimes risk going almost unnoticed in favor of the more glamorous research results they helped produce. Likewise—the Web being a moving, ever-developing target—a lot of sometimes tedious and oftentimes less obvious work goes into standardization of future Web APIs and programming languages.

The Developers Track aims to put this implementation and standardization work front and center. We encourage research submissions that describe technically challenging Web applications of all sorts, including (but by no means limited to) bleeding edge technologies like WebAssembly, Service Workers, or WebVR; multimedia-related topics like WebRTC, Web MIDI, Web Bluetooth, or Encrypted Media Extensions; and advanced Web features like Payment Request, Credential Management, or Web Share.

Additionally, we welcome submissions on core JavaScript/ECMAScript language features, scripting engines, Web frameworks, Web performance, and WebExtensions. We will also consider works on Web privacy and Web security, as long as the focus is on the development aspects.

Submissions are not limited to formats that can be printed, but authors should be creative in finding the most effective way to communicate their work, and we welcome dynamic or interactive contributions. Contributions using native Web technologies, or otherwise in a format which exemplifies or demonstrates dogfooding of the technology in question are particularly encouraged.

Submissions must be made using easychair within the Developer track

Developers Track Chairs:

  • Amy Guy (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Thomas Steiner (Google, Germany)

Contact: developerschairs (at)

More information about Chairs:

Program Committee:

  • Ghislain Auguste Atemezing (Mondeca, France)
  • Uldis Bojars (IMCS – University, Latvia)
  • Richard Cyganiak (Digital Enterprise Research Institute, NUI Galway, Ireland)
  • Stefan Dietze (L3S Research Center, Germany)
  • Aldo Gangemi (Università di Bologna & CNR-ISTC, Italy)
  • Hugh Glaser (Seme4 Ltd., UK)
  • Christophe Guéret (Accenture, France)
  • Jörn Hees (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
  • Joachim Van Herwegen (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Pieter Heyvaert (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Sabrina Kirrane (Vienna University of Economics and Business – WU Wien, Austria)
  • Kjetil Kjernsmo (Multiarc Kjernsmo, Norway)
  • Dimitris Kontokostas (University of Leipzig, Germany)
  • Tobias Kuhn (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Ilaria Liccardi (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Albert Meroño-Peñuela (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Giuseppe Rizzo (ISMB, Italy)
  • Andrei Sambra (Qwant, France)
  • Miel Vander Sande (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Jodi Schneider (University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, USA)
  • Oshani Seneviratne (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Ruben Taelman (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Shaun Wallace (Brown University, USA)
  • Amrapali Zaveri (Maastricht University, Netherlands)
  • Jun Zhao (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)

Important dates:

  • Developers track papers submission deadline : 17 January 2018
  • Developers track papers acceptance notification : 14 February 2018
  • Developers track papers final version due : 28 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page