Demos track

We invite contributions to the Demo Track at The Web Conference 2018, the 27th World Wide Web conference.

For more than two decades, the International World Wide Web Conference has been the premier venue for researchers, academics, businesses and standards bodies to come together and discuss latest updates and the future of the web. The proceedings of WWW are published online (open access) and through ACM Digital Library, and it is considered one of the most impactful conferences in computer science.

The Demo Track allows researchers and practitioners to demonstrate new systems in a dedicated session. Demo submissions must be based on an implemented and tested system that pursues one or more innovative ideas in the interest areas of the conference.

Topics of interest for this year’s conference include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Computational Health
  • Behavioral Analysis and Personalization
  • Crowdsourcing Systems and Social Media
  • Content Analysis
  • Bio-feedback and Emotional Computation
  • New Human-Computer Interfaces
  • Internet Economics, Monetization and Online Markets
  • Pervasive Web and Mobility
  • Security and Privacy
  • Semantic Web, Content Analysis, and Content Mining
  • Social Networks, Social Analysis, and Computational Social Science
  • Web Infrastructure: Datacenters, Cloud Computing, and Systems
  • Search, Web Mining, User Modeling, Personalization, and Experience
  • Mobile, Ubiquitous, Ambient, and Pervasive Computation
  • Web Science, Web Search, and Web Systems

Demos are encouraged from academic researchers, from industrial practitioners with prototypes or in-production deployments, as well as from any W3C-related activities. Software (including games or learning platforms) and hardware demos will be considered equally, as long as they show innovative use of Web-based techniques. Each demo submission must make clear which aspects of the system will be demonstrated, and how. They should strive to state the significance of the contribution to Web technology or applications. Demos will be peer-reviewed by members of the Demo Track Program Committee, who will judge the originality, significance, quality, and clarity of each submission.

At least one author of each accepted demo paper must register for and attend the conference, and demonstrate the system during the demo sessions (please see the Conference Policies). Each accepted demo paper will be allocated no more than four pages in the conference proceedings.

Submission guidelines

Demo submissions must be formatted according to the ACM SIG Proceedings Template and are limited to four pages. It is the authors’ responsibility to ensure that their submissions adhere strictly to the required format. In particular, the format cannot be modified with the objective of squeezing in more material. Submissions that do not comply with the formatting guidelines will be rejected without review. Submissions must be in PDF and must be done through the EasyChair system (demo track):

Each demo description should be max. 4 pages long, and contain an introduction, brief description, screenshots, value and contribution. Submissions should also indicate how the demo will be demonstrated, and which hardware requirements are asked from the organizers. To better identify the value of demos, as well as to reach out to external audiences, we also encourage authors to submit a pointer to a screencast, using web-accessible platforms such as Vimeo or YouTube. The maximum duration of screencasts is 10 minutes. We also highly encourage any external material related to the demo (e.g., shared code on Github).

Please note that for the demo track, submissions are single blind and should include authors information.

See also the guideline information on main CFP page.

Demos Track Chairs:

  • Paul Groth (Elsevier Labs, Netherlands)
  • Amélie Gyrard (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA & Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne, France)

Contact: demoschairs (at)

Program Committee:

  • Hussein Al-Olimat (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Muhammad Intizar Ali (Insight Centre for Data Analytics, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
  • Ghislain Auguste Atemezing (Mondeca, France)
  • Flavien Balbo (Ecole des Mines Saint Etienne, France)
  • Payam Barnaghi (University of Surrey, United Kingdom)
  • Paolo Bellavista (University of Bologna, Italy)
  • Yoann Bertrand (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France)
  • Karima Boudaoud (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France)
  • Victor Charpenay (Siemens, Germany)
  • Andrei Ciortea (University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest, Romania)
  • Alfredo Cuzzocrea (University of Treste, Italy)
  • Elizabeth Daly (IBM, Ireland)
  • Soumya Kanti Datta (EURECOM, France)
  • Anwitaman Datta (NTU, Singapore)
  • Yasmin Fathy (University of Surrey, United Kingdom)
  • Roy Fielding (The Apache Software Foundation, USA)
  • Raúl García-Castro (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
  • Manas Gaur (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Paul Grace (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Christophe Gravier (Université de Lyon, France)
  • Bin Guo (Northwestern Polytechnical University, China)
  • Sebastian Hellmann (University of Leipzig, Germany)
  • Hugo Hromic (Insight Center for Data Analytics, Ireland)
  • Utkarshani Jaimini (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Erisa Karafili (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Mehdi Kaytoue (LIRIS – INSA de Lyon, France)
  • Soon Jye Kho (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • David Laniado (Eurecat, Spain)
  • Gyu Myoung Lee (Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom)
  • Maxime Lefrançois (Mines de Saint-Etienne, France)
  • Fangming Liu (Huazhong University of Science & Technology, China)
  • Costabello Luca (Accenture Labs, France)
  • Mohammad Saeid Mahdavinejad (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Maria Maleshkova (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Massimo Melucci (University of Padua, Italy)
  • Albert Meroño-Peñuela (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Sapna Negi (Insight Center for Data Analytics, Ireland)
  • David Nichols (University of Waikato, New Zealand)
  • Swati Padhee (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Marcin Paprzycki (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  • Josiane Xavier Parreira (SIEMENS AG, Austria)
  • Pankesh Patel (Fraunhofer, Germany)
  • Adriano C. M. Pereira (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
  • Danh Le Phuoc (Technical University of Berlin, Germany)
  • Gauthier Picard (Laboratoire Hubert Curien UMR CNRS 5516, Institut Henri Fayol, MINES Saint-Etienne, France)
  • Julien Plu (Mondeca, France)
  • Mohammadreza Rezvan (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Michele Ruta (Poliba, Italy)
  • Reza Sadeghi (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • David Shamma (FX Palo Alto Laboratory, Inc., USA)
  • Saeedeh Shekarpour (Knoesis Center, USA)
  • Xiang Su (University of Oulu, Finland)
  • Mitul Tiwari (LinkedIn, USA)
  • Bebo White (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Ruwan Wickramarachchi (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Sanjaya Wijeratne (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Alexander Willner (FOKUS, Fraunhofer, Germany)
  • Fan Yang (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Mahdieh Zabihimayvan (Kno.e.sis, Wright State University, USA)
  • Achille Zappa (Insight NUIG Galway, Ireland)
  • Antoine Zimmermann (École des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France)

Important dates:

  • Demos papers submission deadline : 10 January 2018
  • Demos papers acceptance notification : 14 February 2018
  • Demos papers final version due : 28 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

See copyright note on main CFP page