# Digital Learning Alternative Research Track Track Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the WWW 2017 Digital Learning Alternative Research Track. We received 20 submissions from all around the world, covering a broad range of topics related to Web Technologies for supporting Teaching and Learning. We evaluated them regarding relevance, quality, and novelty, selecting 15 papers meeting these criteria. The selected papers cover a wide range of the research areas identified in the WWW 2017 Digital Learning Track and present innovative contributions beyond current state-of-the-art in these areas.

More specifically, the main topics addressed in the accepted papers include:

- Innovations in Teaching, Learning and Assessment for Online and Blended Environments supported by Web Technologies
- Education Data Analytics Technologies in Massive Open Online Courses and Online Learning Environments

The call for papers attracted submissions from United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Review and acceptance statistics are as follows:

WWW 2017 Digital Learning Track	Reviewed	Accepted	
Full Papers	20	15	75%

We believe that the track program provides a good balance between several current topics in Web Technologies for Digital Learning. Hence, we hope that you will find the track program interesting, providing you with a valuable opportunity to learn and share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

### **Demetrios Sampson**

Track co-Chair Curtin University

#### **Bebo White**

Irwin King

Track co-Chair Stanford University



# Jacqueline Bourdeau

Track co-Chair Track co-Chair

Tele-university Chinese University of Hong Kong

## **Eunice Sari**

Track co-Chair UX Indonesia

# **Digital Learning Alternative Research Track Organization**

**Track Chairs:** Demetrios Sampson (Curtin University, Australia)

Bebo White (Stanford University, USA)

Jacqueline Bourdeau (Tele-university, Canada)

Irwin King (Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Eunice Sari (UX Indonesia)

**Program Committee:** Victor Alvarez (Murdoch University, Western Australia)

David Gibson (Curtin University, Western Australia) Vanessa Chang (Curtin University, Western Australia)

Paul Newhouse (Edith Cowan University, Western Australia)

Phillip Dawson (Deakin University, Australia)

Shane Dawson (University of South Australia, Australia) Sue Gregory (University of New England, Australia) Judy Kay (The University of Sydney, Australia)

Abelardo Pardo (The University of Sydney, Australia)

Simon J. Buckingham Shum (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)

Deborah West (Charles Darwin University, Australia) Ben Daniel (University of Otago, New Zealand)

Tanja Mitrovic (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)

Hiroaki Ogata (Kyushu University, Japan)

Hiroyuki Mitsuhara (Tokushima University, Japan)

Minhong Wang (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Nian-Shing Chen (National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan)

Gwo-Jen Hwang (National Taiwan University Science Technology, Taiwan)

Yu-Ju Lan (National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan)

Chin-Chung Tsai (National Taiwan University Science Technology, Taiwan)

Ronghuai Huang (Beijing Normal University, China)

Sridhar Iyer (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India) Sahana Murthy (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)

Eyhab Al-Masri (Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada)

Kinshuk (University of North Texas, USA)

Erik Klopfer (MIT, USA)

Beverly Woolf (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)

Ig Ibert Bittencourt (Universidade Federal de Alagoas, Brazil)

Ramón Zatarain Cabada (Culiacán Institute of Technology, Mexico)

Diana Andone (Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania)

Michail Giannakos (Norwegian University Science Technology, Norway)

George Metakides (Digital Enlightenment Forum, Belgium)

Marcelo Milrad (Linnaeus University, Sweden)

Alexandra Poulovassilis (Birkbeck, University of London, UK)

Barbara Wasson (Bergen University, Norway)

Yacin Atif (University of Skovde, Sweden)

Mohammed Jemni (University of Tunis, Tunisia)

Hend Al-Khalifa (King Saud University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)