# TempWeb 2017 Chairs' Welcome Message

Time is a key dimension to understand the Web. It is fair to say that it has not received yet all the attention it deserves and TempWeb is an attempt to help remedy this situation by putting time as the center of its reflection. Studying time in this context actually covers a large spectrum, from the extraction of temporal information and knowledge, to diachronic studies for the design of infrastructural and experimental settings enabling a proper observation of this dimension.

For its seventh edition, TempWeb accepted eight very positively reviewed submissions for oral presentation. We interpret the high quality of the submissions and the frequent contributors to TempWeb, as indicators of an evolving community. It shows a clear sign of a positive dynamic in the study of time in the scope of the Web and evidence of the relevance of this effort. The workshop proceedings are published by ACM DL as part of the WWW 2017 Companion Publication.

We hope you will find in these papers as well as the keynote of Gerhard Weikum (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany) on the truely timely topic "What Computers Should Know, Shouldn't Know and Shouldn't Believe", and the discussion and exchanges of this edition of TempWeb, some motivations to look more into this important aspect of the Web.

TempWeb 2017 was jointly organized by University of Caen Normandy (Caen, France), NTENT (Carlsbad, CA, USA) and Internet Memory Foundation (Paris, France).

### **Marc Spaniol**

Chair and Organizer University of Caen Normandy, France

### Ricardo Baeza-Yates

Chair and Organizer NTENT, Carlsbad, CA, USA

#### **Julien Masanès**

Chair and Organizer
Internet Memory Foundation,
France and Netherlands



# **TempWeb 2017 Organization**

**Program Chairs & Organizers:** Marc Spaniol (University of Caen Normandy, France)

Ricardo Baeza-Yates (NTENT, USA; UPF, Spain; UChile, Chile)

Julien Masanès (Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)

Program Committee: Eytan Adar (University of Michigan, USA)

Omar Alonso (Microsoft Bing, USA) Ralitsa Angelova (Google, Switzerland) Srikanta Bedathur (IBM Delhi, India)

Andras A. Benczur (Hungarian Academy of Science)

Klaus Berberich (University of Applied Sciences, Saarbrücken, Germany)

Roi Blanco (University of La Coruna, Spain)

Renata Galante (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)

Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan)

Nattiya Kanhabua (Aalborg University, Denmark) Scott Kirkpatrick (Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel)

Frank McCown (Harding University, USA)
Michael Nelson (Old Dominion University, USA)

Kjetil Norvag (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)

Nikos Ntarmos (University of Glasgow, UK)

Philippe Rigaux (Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers, France)

Thomas Risse (L3S Research Center, Germany)

Jannik Strötgen (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany) Rodrygo Luis Teodoro Santos (University of Glasgow, UK) Pierre Senellart (École normale supérieure Paris, France)

Torsten Suel (NYU Polytechnic, USA) Masashi Toyoda (Tokyo University, Japan)

Gerhard Weikum (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany)