SNOW 2017 Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the *Fourth Workshop on Social News on the Web – SNOW* 2017 – held in conjunction with the *WWW 2017* conference on April 3rd 2017 in Perth, Australia.

In recent years, the topics addressed by *SNOW* have become very popular among diverse scientific communities. Computer scientists have studied how information spreads and diffuses in social networks. Journalists, social scientists, and economists are typical professionals who can improve their respective fields and practice by adopting technologies of interest to *SNOW*. In addition, there are emerging regulatory and legal issues that are of interest to law researchers and practitioners. The workshop aims to provide a forum to foster communication between these communities. In particular, the workshop has attracted a number of high-quality submissions on the relationships between online news and social media.

With this workshop we aim at continuing a tradition of interdisciplinary exchange and cross-domain fertilization among different research communities. The goal of the workshop is to share novel ideas and to discuss future directions in the emerging areas of *news search*, *news mining*, *news verification*, and *news recommendation*. It especially focuses on the interplay between *news content*, generated by professional journalists, and *social media content*, generated by millions of users in real time and subject to social media dynamics. We also welcome investigations on the topics of citizen journalism and *computational journalism*. SNOW aspires to give researchers and practitioners a unique opportunity to share their perspectives with others interested in news and social media.

The call for papers attracted 4 submissions from Asia, America, and Europe. The program committee accepted 2 papers that cover important topics at the intersection between news and social media. The major criterion for the selection of papers was their potential to generate discussion and influence future research directions. The program also includes two keynote talks from distinguished experts in the field. Finally, the workshop also features an Oxford-style debate on the theme "Is social media the future of news?" which will involve all the participants to the workshop.

We hope you will find this program interesting and thought provoking, and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

Putting together SNOW 2017 was a collaborative effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing feedback for authors in a timely manner. Finally, we thank the organizers of the WWW 2017 conference for giving us the opportunity to run this workshop.

Gianmarco De Francisci Morales

SNOW 2017 General Chair QCRI, Doha, Qatar

Symeon Papadopoulos

SNOW 2017 General Chair CERTH-ITI, Thessaloniki, Greece

Luca Maria Aiello

SNOW 2017 General Chair Nokia Bell Labs, Cambridge, UK

Haewoon Kwak

SNOW 2017 General Chair QCRI, Doha, Qatar



SNOW 2017 Organization

General Chairs: Gianmarco De Francisci Morales (QCRI, Qatar)

Luca Maria Aiello (Nokia Bell Labs, UK) Symeon Papadopoulos (CERTH-ITI, Greece)

Haewoon Kwak (QCRI, Qatar)

Program Committee: Jisun An (*QCRI*, *Qatar*)

Ilaria Bordino (Unicredit R&D, Italy)

Meeyoung Cha (KAIST, Korea)

Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia (Indiana University, USA)

David Corney (Signal Media, UK)

Michele Coscia (Harvard University, USA)

Suman Deb Roy (Betaworks, USA)

Nicholas Diakopoulos (University of Maryland, USA)

Kiran Garimella (Aalto University, Finland)

Claudia Hauff (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)

Andreas Kaltenbrunner (Eurecat, Spain)

Jaap Kamps (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands) Nattiya Kanhabua (Aalborg University, Denmark)

Mounia Lalmas (Yahoo, UK)

Claudio Lucchese (ISTI-CNR, Italy)

Michael Mathioudakis (Aalto University, Finland)

Yelena Mejova (QCRI, Qatar)

Stuart E. Middleton (IT Innovation, UK)

Lyndon Nixon (MODUL University, Austria)

Denis Parra (Catholic University of Chile, Chile)

Luiz Pizzato (Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Australia)

Georgios Rizos (CERTH-ITI, Greece)

Giancarlo Ruffo (University of Turin, Italy)

Rossano Schifanella (University of Turin, Italy)

Fabrizio Silvestri (Facebook, UK)

Thomas Steiner (Google., Germany)

Christoph Trattner (Graz University of Technology, Austria)

Adam Tsakalidis (University of Warwick, UK)

Ingmar Weber (OCRI, Qatar)

Markos Zampoglou (CERTH-ITI, Greece)

Arkaitz Zubiaga (University of Warwick, UK)