WebED 2016 Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the *ACM WWW2016 Workshop on Web Science and Technology for Education (WebED2016),* co-located with the 2016 International WWW Conference. This workshop series began as *The Workshop on Web-based Education Technologies (WebET)* at WWW2014 in Seoul, Korea. However, this year's workshop has expanded its scope to explore the influence the growing field of Web Science. By doing so it is our goal to bring together educational technologists, Web researchers, and members of social science communities seeking to investigate the impact of Web technology on teaching and learning. The mission of the workshop is for attendees to share novel solutions that fulfill the needs of heterogeneous applications and environments and identify new directions for future research and development. It is also our hope that *WebED2016* attendees might identify others with similar interests possibly leading to new collaborations and joint efforts.

We encourage workshop attendees to attend the keynote speaker presentation, the accepted paper presentations, and the expert panel discussion.

- Keynote: "Web Science, Social Media and Education," Dame Wendy Hall, University of Southampton,
- Panel: "Evaluating Educational Software in the Web Era," Jutta Treviranus (Ontario College of Art and Design University), Jean-Philippe Bradette (Ellicom), Irwin King (The Chinese University of Hong Kong), Beverly Woolf (University of Massachusetts Amherst), and Irina Muhina (iecarus, moderator)

Putting together *WebED2016* was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee for reviewing papers and providing feedback to the authors. Finally, we thank the hosting organization, WWW2016, and its organization team.

We hope that you will find this program interesting and thought provoking and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.



Jacqueline Bourdeau WebED2016 Co-Chair TELUQ, CANADA

Irwin King WebED2016 Co-Chair The Chinese University of Hong Kong Bebo White WebED2016 Co-Chair SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA

WebED 2016 Organization

General Co-Chairs: Jacqueline Bourdeau, Irwin King, Bebo White International Program Cengiz Hakan Aydin (Anadolu University, Turkey) Committee: Ig Ibert Bittencourt (Sao Paulo University, Brazil) Erik Cambria (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) Ken Chan (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Tak-Wai Chan (National Central University, Taiwan) Chih-Hung Chang (Hsiuping University of Science & Technology, Taiwan) Catherine Faron-Zucker (INRIA & Université de Nice, France) Jakab Frantisek (Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia) Serge Garlatti (Telecom Bretagne, France) Horace lp (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Seiji Isotani (Sao Paulo University, Brazil) Jelena Jovanovic (University of Belgrade, Serbia) Zuzana Kubincová (Comenius University, Slovakia) Kam Cheong Li (Open University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Marcelo Fabián Maina (TÉLUQ, Canada) Roger Nkambou (UQAM, Canada) Riichiro Mizoguchi (Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) Demetrios Sampson (University of Piraeus & CERTH, Greece) Marianna Sigala (University of South Australia, Australia) Marco Temperini (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy) Barbara Wasson-Lillehaug (Bergen University, Norway) Masanori Yamada (Kyushu University, Japan) Raymond Yuen (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)