TempWeb 2016 Chairs' Welcome Message

Time is a key dimension to understand the Web. It is fair to say that it has not received yet all the attention it deserves and TempWeb is an attempt to help remedy this situation by putting time as the center of its reflection. Studying time in this context actually covers a large spectrum, from the extraction of temporal information and knowledge, to diachronic studies for the design of infrastructural and experimental settings enabling a proper observation of this dimension.

For its sixth edition, TempWeb accepted six out of eleven submissions for oral presentation. We interpret the high quality of the submissions and the frequent contributors to TempWeb, as indicators of an evolving community. It shows a clear sign of a positive dynamic in the study of time in the scope of the Web and evidence of the relevance of this effort. The workshop proceedings are published by ACM DL as part of the WWW 2016 Companion Publication.

We hope you will find in these papers as well as the keynotes of Wolfgang Nejdl (L3S Hanover, Germany) and Omar Alonso (Microsoft, USA), and the discussion and exchanges of this edition of TempWeb, some motivations to look more into this important aspect of the Web.

TempWeb 2016 was jointly organized by Caen University (Caen, France), Yahoo Labs (Sunnyvale, USA) and Internet Memory Foundation (Paris, France).



Marc Spaniol

Chair and Organizer
Caen University, France

Ricardo Baeza-Yates

Chair and Organizer Yahoo Labs, Sunnyvale, USA

Julien Masanès

Chair and Organizer
Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands

, ,

TempWeb 2016 Organization

Program Chairs & Organizers: Marc Spaniol (Caen University, France)

Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo Labs, Sunnyvale, USA)

Julien Masanès (Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)

Program Committee: Omar Alonso (*Microsoft, USA*)

Ralitsa Angelova (Google, Switzerland)

Srikanta Bedathur (IBM Research, India)

Andras Benczur (Hungarian Academy of Science, Hungary) Klaus Berberich (University of Applied Sciences, Germany)

Roi Blanco (Yahoo Labs, London, UK)

Philipp Cimiano (*University of Bielefeld, Germany*)

Renata Galante (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)

Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan)

Nattiya Kanhabua (Aalborg University, Denmark) Scott Kirkpatrick (Hebrew University, Israel) Frank McCown (Harding University, USA) Michael Nelson (Old Dominion University, USA)

Nikos Ntarmos (*University of Glasgow*, *UK*)

Kjetil Nørvåg (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)

Philippe Rigaux (CNAM and Mignify, France) Thomas Risse (L3S Research Center, Germany)

Jannik Strötgen (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)

Torsten Suel (New York University, USA) Masashi Toyoda (Tokyo University, Japan)

Gerhard Weikum (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)