LocWeb 2016 Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the *6th International Workshop on Location and the Web*, associated with WWW 2016. This is the sixth workshop in its series, having previously been held at WWW (LocWeb 2008), CHI (LocWeb 2009), IoT (LocWeb 2010), CIKM (LocWeb 2014), and WWW (LocWeb 2015).

LocWeb continues following its main objective of bringing together a community of researchers at the intersection of location and the Web, serving as a unique venue to integrate different backgrounds and stimulating the exchange of ideas and fostering closer cooperation. LocWeb will provide a topic-specific venue where researchers from different fields, be it data mining, recommendation, search, systems, services, social media, applications, or standards, can discuss and develop the role of location. Its focus lies in Web-scale services and systems facilitating location-aware information access. We aim for a highly interactive, collaborative workshop with ample room for discussion that will explore and advance the geospatial topic.

The location topic is understood as a crosscutting issue equally concerning information access, semantics and standards, and Web-scale systems and services. The workshop establishes an integrated venue where the location aspect can be discussed in depth within an interested community. LocWeb follows the main theme of Location-Aware Information Access, with subtopics related to Search, Analytics, Mobility, Apps, Services, and Systems. It is designed to reflect the multitude of fields that demand and utilize location features from an interdisciplinary perspective.

The call for papers attracted submissions from Europe, the Americas, Asia, and the Middle East. The program committee reviewed and accepted the following:

Venue or Track

Reviewed Accepted

LocWeb 2016 Organization

Chairs:	
	Erik Wilde (Siemens Research)
	Bruno Martins (University of Lisbon, IST and INESC-ID)
Program Committee:	Arjen de Vries (CWI, Netherlands)
	Clodoveu Davis Jr. (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
	Max Egenhofer (University of Maine, USA)
	Claudia Hauff (Delft University, Netherlands)
	Andreas Henrich (University of Bamberg, Germany)
	Christopher Jones (Cardiff University, UK)
	Carsten Kessler (CUNY, USA)
	Chandan Kumar (University Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
	Francisco J. López-Pellicer (Universidad Zaragoza, Spain)
	Vanessa Murdock (Microsoft, USA)
	Ross Purves (Universität Zürich, Switzerland)
	Massimiliano Ruocco (NTNU, Norway)
	Steven Schockaert (Cardiff University)
	Rainer Simon (AIT Austrian Institute for Technology)
	Torsten Suel (NYU Poly, USA)
	Christoph Trattner (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
	Yana Volkovich (Barcelona Media, Spain)