WWW DevDay 2016 Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the rebooted Developers Day, at with WWW 2016.

The success of the World Wide Web depends on its developers. From Hypertext and Web Browsers to the APIs that extend the capabilities of the Web, developers have played a very important role in making the Web as ubiquitous as it is today. To celebrate this great driving force behind the Web, we have rebooted the Developers Day at the World Wide Web Conference.

The presenters at Developers Day are developers who have interesting open-source software to showcase to the Web developer community. The submissions that were accepted for presentation clearly showed an innovative use of technology, a potential to advance the state of the art of the Web, and a real-world application of the software. Some of the presentations include social bots, Web-based payment protocols, collaborative web environments, tracking changes in large knowledge organization systems, and testing frameworks suited for the Web. All of these topics are timely and are of interest to the general Web developer community.

The program for the Developers Day consists of a round of lightning talks followed by Birds of a Feather (BoF) sessions where attendees are able to get an in-depth look at the software presented in the form of a hands-on tutorial as well as a discussion of open challenges, next steps, and application areas. We believe that such developer discourse is essential for the advancement of the Web.

Putting together the *Developers Day 2016* was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing feedback for authors. Finally, we would like to thank the WWW 2016 committee for support in organizing this event.



Oshani Seneviratne *DevDay Chair* **Lalana Kagal** *DevDay Chair*

Andrei Sambra DevDay Chair

WWW DevDay 2016 Organization

Chairs:	Oshani Seneviratne (Oracle, USA) Lalana Kagal (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA) Andrei Sambra (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Program Committee:	Amy Guy (University of Edinburgh, UK)
	Dominic di Franzo (University of Southampton, UK)
	Evan Patton (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
	Lea Verou (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
	Melvin Carvalho
	Nandana Mihindukulasooriya (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
	Nicola Greco (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
	Raphaël Troncy (EURECOM, France)
	Richard Cyganiak (Digital Enterprise Research Institute, Ireland)
	Ruben Verborgh (Ghent University – iMinds, Belgium)
	Sarven Capadisli (University of Bonn, Germany)
	Stéphane Corlosquet (Massachusetts General Hospital, USA)
	Ted Benson (Cloudstitch, USA)
	Thomas Steiner (Google, USA)