#RDSM 2015 Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 2015 ACM Workshop on Rumours and Deception in Social Media: Detection, Tracking, and Visualization – #RDSM'15, associated with WWW 2015.

This workshop will focus on rumors and deception in social media, including but not limited to automatic detection, tracking, and visualization of deceptive content, as it spreads across media, languages, and social networks; and modelling trustworthiness of information sources.

The aim of this multi-disciplinary workshop is to bring together researchers from web science, social network analysis, social computing, information visualisation, natural language processing, and other scientific disciplines.

The call for papers attracted submissions from Asia, Canada, Europe, Africa, and the United States. The program committee received 13 submissions and accepted 7 of these (54% acceptance rate):

Putting together *#RDSM'15* was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing feedback for authors. Finally, we thank the WWW workshop chairs, the WWW local organizers, and the PHEME EC project (http://www.pheme.eu) for supporting the workshop.

We hope that you will find this program interesting and thought-provoking and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

Kalina Bontcheva

RDSM'15 General Chair The University of Sheffield Maria Liakata & Rob Procter RDSM'15 Program Chairs The University of Warwick Arno Scharl RDSM'15 Program Chair MODUL University



RDSM 2015 Organization

General Chair:	Kalina Bontcheva (The University of Sheffield, UK)
Program Chairs:	Maria Liakata (The University of Warwick, UK)
-	Rob Procter (The University of Warwick, UK)
	Arno Scharl (MODUL University, Austria)
Program Committee:	Wolfgang Aigner (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
	Omar Alonso (Microsoft, USA)
	Martin Atzmueller (University of Kassel, Germany)
	Tim Baldwin (University of Melbourne, Australia)
	Axel Bruns (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)
	Pete Burnap (Cardiff University, UK)
	Thierry Declerck (University of Saarland and DFKI, Germany)
	Leon Derczynski (University of Sheffield, UK)
	Nicholas Diakopoulos (University of Maryland, US)
	Georgi Georgiev (Ontotext, Bulgaria)
	George Gkotsis (Open University, UK)
	Aditi Gupta (Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, India)
	Bo Han (IBM Research, Australia)
	Bernie Hogan (Oxford Internet Institute, UK)
	Geert-Jan Houben (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
	William Housley (Cardiff University, UK)
	Marina Jirotka (Oxford University, UK)
	David Laniado (Yahoo! Research, Spain)
	Matteo Magnani (Uppsala Universitet, Sweden)
	Nicolas Nicolov (<i>Amazon, USA</i>)
	Petya Osenova (Ontotext, Bulgaria)
	Leysia Palen (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)
	Denis Parra (<i>Catholic University of Chile, Chile</i>)
	Massimo Poesio (University of Essex, UK)
	Allan Ritter (<i>Ohio State University</i> , US)
	Damiano Spina (UNED, Spain)
	Anna Koliakou (<i>King's College London, UK</i>)
	Arun Sundararajan (<i>NYU</i> , <i>USA</i>)
	Sara Rosenthal (Columbia University, USA)
	Peter Tolmie (University of Warwick, UK)
	Christoph Trattner (<i>Know Center, Austria</i>)
	Andreas Vlachos (University College London, UK)
	Arkaitz Zubiaga (University of Warwick, UK)