1st International Workshop on Multilingual Web Access (MWA 2015) – Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 1^{st} International Workshop on Multilingual Web Access (MWA 2015), associated with WWW 2015.

Motivation & Goals of the MWA 2015 Workshop

Over the past 25 years, the World Wide Web has developed into a truly transnational information medium for users from across the globe. As of July 2013, Asia accounts for the largest share of online users in the world at 48%, followed by 22% from the Americas, and 19% from Europe. With this global development, the diversity of user languages on the Web has increased dramatically, leading to new challenges and opportunities for information access providers and consumers.

The MWA workshop brings together researchers working on Cross-/Multilingual Search & Discovery, the Multilingual Social Web, as well as the Multilingual Semantic Web, in order to promote the exchange of complementary ideas and applicable/transferrable techniques between these areas. The goal of the workshop is to advance the current state of the art in Multilingual Web Access techniques, and, most importantly, to increase the adoption of multilingual techniques, methods, and tools in real-world Web applications.

Submissions & Accepted Papers

The call for papers attracted submissions from Africa, Asia, Europe, and North America, and each submission was reviewed by three members of the workshop program committee. In total, 7 long papers and 1 short paper were accepted for presentation at the workshop (overall acceptance rate: 66%). These papers address a broad spectrum of pressing Multilingual Web Access issues, including topics such as Multilingual Web Search, Multilingual Social Networks, or accessibility issues on the Multilingual Web.

We hope that you will find this program interesting and thought-provoking, and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

Our Thanks

Putting together *MWA 2015* was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are equally grateful to the program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing very high-quality feedback for authors.

Ben Steichen, Nicola Ferro, David Lewis, Ed H. Chi

MWA 2015 organizing committee

www.multilingualwebaccess.org



MWA 2015 Organization

Workshop Chairs:	Ben Steichen (University of British Columbia, Canada)
	Nicola Ferro (University of Padua, Italy)
	David Lewis (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
	Ed H. Chi (Google, USA)
Program Committee:	Omar Alonso (Microsoft, USA)
	Martin Braschler (Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland)
	Paul Buitelaar (National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
	Philipp Cimiano (University of Bielefeld, Germany)
	Kevyn Collins-Thompson (University of Michigan, USA)
	Paul Clough (University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
	Thierry Declerk (DFKI Saarbrücken, Germany)
	Luanne Freund (University of British Columbia, Canada)
	Bo Fu (University of Victoria, Canada)
	Jorge Garcia (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
	Rami Ghorab (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
	Asunción Gomez Perez (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
	Julio Gonzalo (National Distance Education University, UNED, Spain)
	Scott Hale (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
	Donna Harman (National Institute for Standards and Technology, USA)
	Sebastian Hellmann (Institut für Angewandte Informatik EV, Germany)
	Kalervo Järvelin (University of Tampere, Finland)
	Gareth Jones (Dublin City University, Ireland)
	Noriko Kando (NII, Japan)
	Kevin Koidl (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
	Anita Komlodi (University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA)
	Prasenjit Majumder (DAIICT, Gandhinagar, India)
	John McCrea (University of Bielefeld, Germany)
	Mandar Mitra (Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, India)
	Andrea Moro (Universita degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
	Roberto Navigli (Universita degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
	Jian-Yun Nie (University of Montréal, Canada)
	Elena Montiel Ponsoda (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
	Katharina Reinecke (University of Michigan, USA)
	Felix Sasaki (W3C/DFKI Berlin, Germany)
	Jacques Savoy (University of Neuchatel, Switzerland)
	Gianmaria Silvello (University of Padua, Italy)
	Ian Soboroff (National Institute for Standards and Technology, USA)
	ian soboron (reaconal institute for standards and reenhology, USA)