WWW'15 Web Science Track Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 2015 ACM Web Science Track, held as part of the WWW 2015 conference, in Florence, Italy.

The scale of the Web's impact, its transformative nature for the society and the rate of its adoption are unparalleled in human history. Web Science is an interdisciplinary field dedicated to understanding what the Web is, engineering its future, and ensuring its social benefit. This track focuses on all aspects of Web Science, combining research from disciplines as diverse as social science, sociology, digital humanities, philosophy, art and history, computer science, economics and mathematics, with papers demonstrating interdisciplinary work contributing new models, algorithms, data analysis, frameworks and applications with direct domain relevance and interdisciplinary impact. This year's Web Science Track call for papers attracted 87 submissions, with authors hailing from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America.

Among the 87 submissions, the program committee reviewed and accepted 12 papers for full presentation (acceptance rate: 13.8%), and an additional 14 papers for poster presentation. The papers and posters represent a wide range of Web Science topics, including Web access, crowdsourcing, online communities, the structure and organization of the Web, social computing, and the Internet of Things.

Putting together this year's Web Science Track was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing high-quality feedback for authors.

We hope that you will find this program interesting and thought provoking, and that the Web Science Track will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

Lora Aroyo

Web Science Track Program Co-Chair VU University Amsterdam, NL

Dame Wendy Hall

Web Science Track General Co-Chair University of Southampton Southampton, UK

Brooke Foucault Welles

Web Science Track Program Co-Chair Northeastern University, USA

Jim Hendler

Web Science Track General Co-Chair Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA



WWW2015 Web Science Track Organization

General Chairs: Dame Wendy Hall (University of Southampton)

Jim Hendler (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Program Chairs: Lora Aroyo (VU University Amsterdam)

Brooke Foucault Welles (Northeastern University)

Program Committee: Robert Ackland (The Australian National University)

Sibel Adali (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Nitin Agarwal (University of Arkansas at Little Rock)

Harith Alani (KMi, The Open University)
Pramod Anantharam (Kno.e.sis Center)
Payam Barnaghi (University of Surrey)
Nick Beauchamp (Northeastern University)

Halil Bisgin (NCTR)

Kalina Bontcheva (University of Sheffield)

Alessandro Bozzon (Delft University of Technology)

John Breslin (NUI Galway)

Pamela Briggs (Northumbria University) Gregoire Burel (The Open University)

Liliana Cabral (CSIRO)

Amparo E. Cano (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University)

Leslie Carr (University of Southampton)

Ciro Cattuto (ISI Foundation)

Federica Cena (University of Torino)

Oscar Corcho (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid)

Mathieu D'Aquin (Knowledge Media Institute, the Open University)

Frank de Bakker (VU University Amsterdam)

Victor de Boer (VU Amsterdam)

Anna De Liddo (KMi, Open University)

Pasquale De Meo (VU University, Amsterdam)

Stefan Decker (DERI Galway)

Ian Dickinson (Epimorphics Ltd.)

Stefan Dietze (L3S Research Center)

Vania Dimitrova (University of Leeds)

Ying Ding (Indiana University)

John Domingue (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University)

Miriam Fernandez (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University)

Emilio Ferrara (Indiana University Bloomington)

Fabien Gandon (Inria)

Aldo Gangemi (Université Paris 13 & CNR-ISTC)

Chiara Ghidini (FBK-irst)

Program Committee

(continued): Harry Halpin (World Wide Web Consortium)

Conor Hayes (Insight Centre for Data Analytics, NUI Galway)

Rinke Hoekstra (University of Amsterdam/VU University Amsterdam)

Laura Hollink (VU University Amsterdam)

Clare J. Hooper (University of Southampton)

Geert-Jan Houben (TU Delft)

Jane Hunter (University of Queensland)

Eero Hyvönen (Aalto University)

Yoram Kalman (The Open University of Israel)

Ricardo Kawase (L3S Research Center & Leibniz Universität Hannover)

Jérôme Kunegis (University of Koblenz-Landau)

Yu-Ru Lin (University of Pittsburgh)

Yelena Mejova (Qatar Computing Research Institute)

Ericka Menchen-Trevino (Erasmus Universiteit)

Elaheh Momeni (University of Vienna)

Claudia Niederée (L3S Research Center)

Lyndon Nixon (MODUL University)

Kieron O'Hara (University of Southampton)

Katherine Ognyanova (Northeastern University)

Johan Oomen (Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision & VU

University Amsterdam)

Han Woo Park (YeungNam University)

Denis Parra (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile)

Axel Polleres (Vienna University of Economics and Business - WU Wien)

Valentina Presutti (STLab ISTC-CNR)

Hemant Purohit (Ohio Center of Excellence in Knowledge-enabled

Computing (Kno.e.sis))

Daniele Quercia (Yahoo Labs)

Yves Raimond (BBC)

Christoph Riedl (Northeastern University)

Tuukka Ruotsalo (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology HIIT)

Marta Sabou (MODUL University Vienna)

Hassan Saif (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University)

Stefan Schlobach (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

Fatih Sen (University of Arkansas Little Rock)

Sujoy Sikdar (RPI)

Steffen Staab (University of Koblenz-Landau)

Natalia Stash (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Markus Strohmaier (University of Koblenz-Landau)

Ramine Tinati (University of Southampton)

Thanasis Tiropanis (University Southampton)

Christoph Trattner (KMI, TU-Graz)

Program Committee

(continued): Raphaël Troncy (EURECOM)

Tania Tudorache (Stanford University)

Chris J Van Aart (VU University Amsterdam) Chiel van Den Akker (VU University Amsterdam) Marieke Van Erp (VU University Amsterdam)

Willem Robert Van Hage (SynerScope B.V.)

Jacco van Ossenbruggen (CWI & VU University Amsterdam)

Julita Vassileva (University of Saskatchewan)

Claudia Wagner (GESIS-Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences)

Mark Weal (University of Southampton)

Ingmar Weber (Qatar Computing Research Institute)

Matthew Weber (Rutgers University)

Christo Wilson (Northeastern University)

Massimo Zancanaro (FBK-cit)

Tingshao Zhu (Institute of Psychology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)