TempWeb 2015 Chairs' Welcome Message

Time is a key dimension to understand the Web. It is fair to say that it has not received yet all the attention it deserves and TempWeb is an attempt to help remedy this situation by putting time as the center of its reflection.

Studying time in this context actually covers a large spectrum, from dating methodology to extraction of temporal information and knowledge, from diachronic studies to the design of infrastructural and experimental settings enabling a proper observation of this dimension.

For its fifth edition, TempWeb accepted eleven out of 21 submissions for oral presentation. We like to interpret both, the number of submissions as well as the high quality of the submissions, as indicators of an evolving community. The frequent contributors to TempWeb are a clear sign of a positive dynamic in the study of time in the scope of the Web and evidence of the relevance of this effort. The workshop proceedings are published by ACM DL as part of the WWW 2015 Companion Publication.

We hope you will find in these papers as well as the keynote of Paolo Boldi (Università degli Studi di Milano), and the discussion and exchanges of this edition of TempWeb, some motivations to look more into this important aspect of the Web.

TempWeb 2015 was jointly organized by Caen University (Caen, France), Yahoo Labs (Sunnyvale, USA) and Internet Memory Foundation (Paris, France).

Marc Spaniol

Chair and Organizer
Caen University,
France

Ricardo Baeza-Yates

Chair and Organizer Yahoo Labs, Sunnyvale, USA

Julien Masanès

Chair and Organizer
Internet Memory Foundation,
France and Netherlands



TempWeb 2015 Organization

Program Chairs & Organizers: Marc Spaniol (Caen University, France)

Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo Labs, Sunnyvale, USA)

Julien Masanès (Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)

Program Committee: Omar Alonso (Microsoft Bing, USA)

Ralitsa Angelova (Google, Switzerland) Srikanta Bedathur (IBM Research, India)

Andras Benczur (Hungarian Academy of Science)

Klaus Berberich (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)

Roi Blanco (Yahoo! Research, Spain)

Philipp Cimiano (University of Bielefeld, Germany)

Renata Galante (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)

Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan)

Nattiya Kanhabua (L3S Research Center, Germany) Scott Kirkpatrick (Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel)

Frank McCown (Harding University, USA) Michael Nelson (Old Dominion University, USA) Nikos Ntarmos (University of Glasgow, UK)

Kjetil Nørvåg (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)

Philippe Rigaux (CNAM and Mignify, France)
Thomas Risse (L3S Research Center, Germany)

Rodrygo Santos (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)

Pierre Senellart (*Telecom ParisTech, France*) Torsten Suel (*New York University, USA*) Masashi Toyoda (*Tokyo University, Japan*) Peter Triantafillou (*University of Glasgow, UK*)

Gerhard Weikum (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)