## WS-REST 2014 Chairs' Welcome

Thousands of APIs exist and their number is growing tremendously, while use cases become increasingly complex. In contrast to the human-oriented part of the Web, Web APIs are designed to be used by machines. This makes issues surrounding their design and integration significantly different from those of the traditional Web. However, this also enables the provisioning of new added-value automated solutions on the Web.



The discussion surrounding Web APIs and RESTful services is often held outside of research communities. This workshop brings together researchers and practitioners by providing an open forum for discussing latest findings and research and development results around the issues, practices, and best principles surrounding Web APIs design and their use.

This fifth edition of WS-REST continues the tradition of the previous workshops, but was renamed to "the International Workshop on Web APIs and RESTful design" in order to broaden its scope towards more general research questions surrounding Web APIs. This resulted in 13 high-quality submissions, 10 of which have been selected for presentation at WS-REST 2014. They cover topics such as transaction management, client design, compositions, and API design.

We hope you enjoy this year's selection and would like to welcome you to WS-REST 2014. Our main goal is to keep the discussion about Web API issues alive, in order to stimulate the search for creative solutions within research and engineering disciplines. Many challenges are still ahead of us, as the number of APIs continues to increase each day.

## **Ruben Verborgh**

WS-REST 2014 General Chair Ghent University – *iMinds*, Belgium Thomas Steiner WS-REST 2014 General Chair Google Germany GmbH, Germany

## Carlos Pedrinaci WS-REST 2014 General Chair

The Open University, UK

## WWW'14 WS-REST 2014 Organization

General Chairs:	Ruben Verborgh (Ghent University – iMinds, Belgium)
	Thomas Steiner (Google Germany GmbH, Germany)
	Carlos Pedrinaci (The Open University, UK)
Program Committee:	Rosa Alarcón (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile)
	Mike Amundsen (Layer7)
	Christoph Bussler (Tropo)
	Benjamin Carlyle (Siemens)
	Stefan Dietze (L3S Research Center)
	Joe Gregorio (Google)
	Steve Klabnik
	Yves Lafon (W3C)
	Markus Lanthaler (Graz University of Technology)
	Michael Mrissa (Université Lyon 1)
	Luca Panziera (The Open University)
	Cesare Pautasso (University of Lugano)
	Dave Raggett (W3C)
	Leonard Richardson
	Sylvia Schreier (innoQ)
	Vlad Stirbu (Nokia)
	Stefan Tilkov (innoQ)
	Steve Vinoski (Verivue)
	Tomas Vitvar (Oracle)
	Jim Webber (Neo Technology)
	Erik Wilde (EMC)
	Ivan Zuzak (GitHub)