TempWeb 2014 Chairs' Welcome Message

Time is a key dimension to understand the Web. It is fair to say that it has not received yet all the attention it deserves and TempWeb is an attempt to help remedy this situation by putting time as the center of its reflection.

Studying time in this context actually covers a large spectrum, from dating methodology to extraction of temporal information and knowledge, from diachronic studies to the design of infrastructural and experimental settings enabling a proper observation of this dimension.



For its fourth edition, TempWeb accepted six submissions for oral presentation. We like to interpret the high quality of the submissions as well as the evolving community of frequent contributors to TempWeb as a clear sign of a positive dynamic in the study of time in the scope of the Web and an indication of the relevance of this effort. The workshop proceedings are published by ACM DL as part of the WWW 2014 Companion Publication.

We hope you will find in these papers, the keynote, and the discussion and exchanges of this edition of TempWeb some motivations to look more into this important aspect of the Web.

TempWeb 2014 was jointly organized by Internet Memory Foundation (Paris, France), the Max Planck Institute for Informatics (Saarbrücken, Germany) and Yahoo Labs (Barcelona, Spain).

Marc Spaniol

Chair and Organizer Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany

Julien Masanès

Chair and Organizer Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands

Ricardo Baeza-Yates

Chair and Organizer Yahoo Labs Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

TempWeb 2014 Workshop Organization

Program Chairs & Organizers: Marc Spaniol (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)

Julien Masanès (Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)

Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo! Labs Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain)

Program Committee: Eytan Adar (University of Michigan, USA)

Omar Alonso (Microsoft Bing, USA) Ralitsa Angelova (Google, Switzerland) Srikanta Bedathur (IIIT-Delhi, India)

Andras A. Benczur (Hungarian Academy of Science)

Klaus Berberich (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)

Roi Blanco (Yahoo! Research, Spain)

Philipp Cimiano (University of Bielefeld, Germany)

Renata Galante (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)

Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan)

Scott Kirkpatrick (Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel)

Frank McCown (Harding University, USA)
Michael Nelson (Old Dominion University, USA)

Kjetil Nørvåg (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)

Nikos Ntarmos (University of Patras, Greece)
Philippe Rigaux (CNAM and Mignify, France)
Thomas Risse (L3S Research Center, Germany)
Pierre Senellart (Telecom ParisTech, France)
Masashi Toyoda (Tokyo University, Japan)
Peter Triantafillou (University of Glasgow, UK)

Gerhard Weikum (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany)